“Even fresh-picked veggies right from your own garden will start to deteriorate soon after they’re harvested. And putting them in plastic bags only accelerates their demise. This is because produce biologically gives off ethylene gas; plastic bags trap this gas, which causes veggies to spoil faster.

Fortunately, there’s a natural solution to this perplexing produce problem—the Vejibag. Created by Sally Erickson, an organic farmer from Eastport, Maine, this ingenious item has been a godsend for the perishables side of our business.”

-Jim Therriault, Keeping Veggies Fresh Is in the Bag, on The Old Farmer’s Almanac, May 7, 2015.

“The nice folks at Vejibag sent me one of their bags to review. They claimed their organic cotton bags create a humid environment that helps keep veggies fresher longer – for up to 2 weeks. You need to wet the bag thoroughly, then squeeze out the excess moisture to create the perfect preservation station for your produce. The bags feel similar to a terry cloth towel. They are machine washable.  I decided to put mine to the test. I picked up some CSA share bok choy on a Wednesday… And here it is the following Sunday, almost two weeks later, looking just as fresh as on day 1.  I recommend Vejibag. It lives up to its promises if you follow the direction. And as someone who has suffered the heartbreak of tossing produce gone bad, I can honestly say that this bag will pay for itself.”

Keepin’ it Fresh with Vejibag :: Review and Giveaway Contest, on Urban Vegan, August 7, 2013.

“I used it to store kale and it did an excellent job of keeping those greens very fresh for the 3 or 4 days I had them in it.  I did a test and split the kale, storing half in plastic.  There really was a noticeable difference in favor of the Veji-bag.  Next I put it to the true test:  organic red leaf lettuce.  I have a heck of a time keeping this dainty stuff fresh and usually try to consume in two days or so.  I left the lettuce in the Veji-bag for a week.  It was still in great shape.  I left some of it in for another week and pushed that to a week and a half.  So….at over two and a half weeks, here is the lettuce: (picture) If you look closely at the piece on the left, you’ll see a dark piece and that is slimy as were the very outer leaves which I discarded.  But the rest, while not what I would classify as ‘fresh’, is entirely edible.  I would have had to toss this long ago if stored in plastic.”

-Sue, Two Reviews: The Veji-bag and the film “May I Be Frank”, on A Sunny Path, June 7, 2013.

“Thanks to the great people at Vejibag, I don’t have to feel guilty anymore or be disappointed to find my vegetables getting slimy in just a few days after purchasing it. This little tan bag did not disappoint. After a week, my fresh spinach was still not slimy! … It’s not only the fact that this little bag conserves my vegetables, it’s the awesomeness of the vegetables after a few days of purchase still looking fresh and crisp as the day I got it!”

-Jacqueline, Vejibag: Cloth Produce Storage, on Leafygreen.info, July 8, 2013.

“I really recommend this product! A single Vejibag retails at $16 but it will undoubtedly save you money as approximately 25% off all fresh produce goes off before we can use it. The Vejibag works by allowing the vegetables to breath rather than sweat like they do in plastic. A slightly moist bag allows the vegetables to retain their crispness and extend their shelf life longer than either plastic or a crisp drawer.”

-Product Review: Vejibags – Keep Your Vegetables Fresher For Longer!, on Irish Paleo Girl, June 30, 2013.

“So then, more than 2 weeks later I made my Green Chili & Beans from this post and guess what I remembered? My two-week-old celery, carrots, onion and even 2/3 of a tomato I’d put in some days to a week prior as a test (this would not be to eat alone or on a salad, but to cook with, just as I did). I was amazed, so was Bea, especially the celery. Still firm, crisp and snappy, just like the day I put it in. The carrots were still snappy and did not have the dryness they develop pretty quickly.”

-Richard Nikoleym, Vejibag: A Very Cool & Crisp New Product, on Freetheanimal.com, June 29, 2013.

“I placed stalks of green onion in my Vejibag as soon as I got home from the grocery store. As I used them throughout the week they were definitely fresher than they have been in any other product I have tried. After 1 week I used half of the last stalk and it was still as fresh as when I purchased it… Vejibags work by creating a humid environment that keeps produce crisp and fresh and is also great for fresh herbs. I also learned something new from their website. If you forget to keep the bag wet, you can take your produce and soak it in lightly warm water for about 15 minutes, gently shake them and then return them to the Vejibag and you will magically have crisp veggies once more.

These bags can be used over and over again for years to come. This results in huge savings and let’s face it, in these times we all want to save money.”

Vejibag Organic cotton produce bags Review & Giveaway, on Couponfreestuff.com, June 5, 2013

“Thanks to the folks at Vejibag for the opportunity to try the bag out. I would definitely recommend it to people who don’t always have a chance to use up their vegetables in a timely fashion. Though I got the bag for free, it retails for 16 dollars, and I think it’s worth it if you consider how much money (not to mention natural resources) get wasted when we trash vegetables that have gotten slimy.”

Food Feud: Vejibag, on foodfeud.blogspot.com, June 5, 2013

“What I love most of all is that you can put your washed and clean lettuce into the bag while it is still damp and it won’t ruin the greens! In fact, it will provide needed moisture. Then, when I want to make a salad, I can just grab my clean greens and chop them up. So much salad energy needs to be mustered when I need to start with dirty greens.”

-Wendy, Vejibag Review and Giveaway, on Healthy Girl’s Kitchen, May 9, 2013

“Handcrafted out of organic cotton by women in Maine these bags are super easy to pack, use and give as is. Best of all, the dampened Vejibag’s really do keep salad greens crisp and things that like to get slimy, such as my mushrooms, firm and white longer.”

-Marie Anakee, Vejibag – Hostess Gift, on GaveThat.com, May 25, 2013

“I found the spacious bag easily accommodated a rather large bunch of chicory greens and even more easily a big head of romaine lettuce. Both remained crisp and unslimy for the week it took to eat them. Needless to say, when I get some money together, I’ll be buying a few of these from their online store.”

Vejibag Review, on Zenpawn, May 15, 2013

“It claims to prevent slimy veggies so I put it to the test with the veggies which ALWAYS go slimy for me very quickly, I’m talking within days, cilantro and green onions. Now, I know its not normal, but I have had a bunch of cilantro in my vejibag in the crisper of my fridge for 2 weeks now, and while looking a little worse for wear, as you’d expect, the cilantro is not slimy! I am more than impressed, and am more than happy to heartily recommend the vejibag to everyone I meet!”

-Carla, Product Review – Vejibag, on The Year of the Vegan, May 15, 2013

“This thing totally works, too. I admit that when I first put half a zucchini and some cilantro into this kind of heavy, damp bag, I was a little skeptical. I thought no way this thing wasn’t going to rot the heck out of them, but after forgetting about them for a few days, I checked back in and all was well! I think the bag works especially well for delicate produce, like scallions and herbs. My herbs usually get super sad within a day or so, but not inside the Vejibag! Totally stellar.”

Product Review: Vejibag!, on Awesome. Vegan. Rad., May 8, 2013

“We love having lots of fresh veggies that we know exactly where they came from, but being a two-person household it’s hard to get through all those greens in a week before the next mountain of kale arrives. Worst of all, since I hate to waste food, we end up with bags of vegetables all over the crisper of our refrigerator which we sometimes discover a couple of weeks too late. The once-beautiful green leaves have turned brown and slimy and I get really depressed. Fortunately, a clever and thoughtful woman from Maine named Sally Erickson has come up with an excellent solution: Vejibags.”

-Chris Chamberlain, Vejibags Keep Your Greens Greener, on GearDiary.com, April 27, 2013

“They aren’t paying me to say this, but I was really happy with the product. It does what it claims and I really love that it is a reusable alternative to other methods I have employed. I can see these being in heavy rotation during the upcoming farmer’s market season.”

-Maria Rose, Vejibag Giveaway!, on littlethingsareBIG.com, Tuesday, April 30, 2013 (no permalink)